First Friday Book Synopsis

White privilege, and male at that, remains a powerful force in our culture. 
And personally, before I get too sold on my own accomplishments, it is always helpful to remind myself that I started, via a genetic lottery, with a huge advantage. 
If you look at life as if it were a football game, I was born on my opponents’ 5-yard line, while they weren’t even in the stadium. 
Larry James, The Truth of White Privilege, from his blog, Larry James’ Urban Daily

Most of the people I write about in this book do not have the luxury of rage. They are caught in exhausting struggles. Their wages do not lift them far enough from poverty to improve their lives, and their lives, in turn hold them back. The term by which they are usually described, “working poor,” should be an oxymoron. Nobody who works hard should be poor…

View original post 539 more words

